Our next stop is:
There are no upcoming events at this time.

Fairground Art and Heritage Tours

Discover fairground art through the decades

If you like the idea of seeing the fair without the crowds and would like to learn more about the history and artwork at the fair then why not join us on one of our guided tours. Fairground owner and artist Joby Carter will be sharing the history of the rides and the painting techniques they have used to restore them.

Joby is a leading expert in traditional signwriting techniques, and people fly from all over the world to learn about fairground art, lettering and traditional painting techniques on his signwriting courses.

The tour is a unique chance to see the fair and the beautiful artwork up close and the ideal opportunity to get snapping for your instagram feed.

Guests are encouraged to bring a sketch book and their camera.

The tours are available at selected locations last one hour and cost £5 per person which is donated to the Alexander Devine Children’s Hospice. Click here for our Refunds Policy.

2019 Art and Heritage tour locations

  • Saturday 13 April 11am: Reading, Prospect Park
  • Friday 10 May 6pm: Maidenhead, Pinkneys Green
  • Sunday 26 May 10am: Maldon, Promenade Park
  • Saturday 8 June 11am: Walthamstow, Lloyd park
  • Saturday 15 June 10am: Stoke Newington, Clissold Park
  • Saturday 22 June 11am: Peckham, Peckham Rye Common
  • Saturday 6 July 10am: Hornsey, Priory Park
  • Sunday 21 July 11am: Lichfield, Beacon Park
  • Sunday 4 August 10am: Bath, Victoria Park
  • Saturday 21 Sep 11am: West Wycombe, Pedestal Field
  • Saturday 5 Oct 10am: Maidenhead, Holyport Green
  • Book your Art & Heritage tour here

“Sheer fun, with a lovely touch of history, a humility rarely shown in today’s busy world and the chance to see a real Steam Fair in action both behind the scenes and in front.

Would not have missed this opportunity for the world, Not just a photographers paradise whatever camera you have in your hand but a way of seeing a huge part of the history of Steam. Thank you!”

Patricia Meakins
Bath Fairground Art Tour 2018